# TRI-RIVERS JOINT VOCATIONAL SCHOOL DISTRICT

# REGULAR MEETING October 19, 2011 @ 7:00 p.m. Room 104, TRCC

The regular October Board of Education meeting was called to order by President Mickey Landon at 7:00 p.m.

Members Present:	Mr. Bryan Bumgarner, Mr. Mickey Landon, Mr. Dennis Leader, Mr. Jim
	McFarland, Mr. Keith Rogers, Mr. Gary Sims, Mr. John Thompson, Mr. Rocky
	White and Mr. Gene Wiley. Mr. Robert Haas arrived at 7:25 p.m.

Members Absent: Mr. Jim Clinger, Mr. C. Gary lams and Mr. Carl Layne.

Also Attending: Mr. Charles A. Speelman, Mr. Steve Earnest, Mrs. Jodi Gaietto, Mr. Richard George, Mr. Larry Hickman, Mrs. Ellen Messenger, Mr. Mike Wellin, Mrs. Debbie Curtis, and Mr. Jim Rittler representing TREA.

Items 6, 7A,7B, and 7C listed below under the Consent Agenda are considered by the Board to be routine and will be enacted by the Board in one motion in the form listed below.

Mr. Gary Sims moved to approve the following items as recommended by the Treasurer.
Mr. Bob Haas seconded the motion.
Discussion
Roll Call: Sims yes, Haas yes, Bumgarner yes, Leader yes, McFarland yes, Rogers yes, Thompson yes, White yes, Wiley yes, Landon yes.
Motion declared passed.

#### 6. Minutes

To approve the minutes of the September 21, 2011, regular meeting.

#### 7. A. <u>Financial Report – Attachment 7A</u>

To approve the financial statement for September, 2011, as submitted.

#### B. Paid Bills – Attachment 7B

To approve the list of paid bills for September, 2011, as presented by the Treasurer.

## C. Five Year Forecast – Attachment 7C

To approve the five year forecast as recommended by the Treasurer and Superintendent based on data from the State Department of Education and County Auditor.

## 8. Director's Report – Richard George

#### 9. Superintendent's Report and Recommendations

*Items 9A through 9E listed below under the Consent Agenda are considered by the Board to be routine and will be enacted by the Board in one motion in the form listed below.* 

Mr. Jim McFarland moved to approve the following items as outlined in 9A – 9E. Mr. Gene Wiley seconded the motion. Discussion Roll Call: McFarland yes, Wiley yes, Bumgarner yes, Haas yes, Leader yes, Rogers yes, Sims yes, Thompson yes, White yes, Landon yes.

Motion declared passed.

#### A. <u>EMPLOYMENT</u>

To approve the following individuals for the stated contracts as recommended by the Executive Director-Secondary Education and the Director-Adult Education.

#### Secondary Education

#### **Substitutes**

- Deb Dominguez Teaching
- Charles T. Davis Teaching
- Patty Ortiz Teaching
- Tanyce Addison Teaching

#### Adult Education

- Lisa Leonhart, Part Time Adult Ed EMS Instructor, \$18.00 per hour, up to 1300 hours, no benefits.
- Ryan Simpson, Part Time Adult Ed Industrial Maintenance Instructor, \$20.00 per hour, up to 1300 hours, no benefits.
- Victor Dutton, Part Time Adult Ed Industrial Maintenance Instructor, \$20.00 per hour, up to 1300 hours, no benefits.

#### B. <u>Resignation – Attachment 9B</u>

To approve the resignation of Carol Sarr for purposes of retirement. A copy of the Resignation Agreement is attached for your review.

#### C. <u>Donations – Attachment 9C</u>

To approve a donation from the Junior Service Guild of Marion of \$100.00 for the student incentive program.

# D. Advisory Committee Membership – Attachment 9D

To approve the attached list of advisory committee members for each of our career technical programs for the 2011-2012 school year.

# E. Agreement with Department of Rehabilitation & Correction – Attachment 9E

To approve an agreement between Tri-Rivers Career Center and the Ohio Department of Rehabilitation and Correction, Bureau of Medical Services to provide clinical experiences for our nursing students. A complete copy is attached for your review.

# 10. <u>Adjourn</u>

Mr. Gene Wiley moved to adjourn. Mr. Dennis Leader seconded the motion. Discussion Roll Call: Wiley yes, Leader yes, Bumgarner yes, Haas yes, McFarland yes, Rogers yes, Sims yes, Thompson yes, White yes, Landon yes. Motion declared passed. Meeting adjourned at 7:50 p.m.

Next meeting will be November 16, 2011.

Mickey Landon, President

Stephen J. Earnest, Treasurer